Ally Bank Customer Service
Rated 1.51 of 5 Stars
Based on 35 Complaints

Contact Ally Bank Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-877-247-2559

Ally Bank www.ally.com is a unit of Alley Financial with is headquartered at one Detroit Center, Detroit, Michigan. The bank is publicly traded on NYSE:ALLY and has reported US 54 billion in customer deposits. In 2015 employees were reported as 931 and there are two national offices in Utah and Pennsylvania. Most Ally Bank customers are online customers.

To report a problem with your Ally Bank account you may call 1-877-247-2559. You may find Contact Us information here. If you would like to send postal correspondence to CEO, Diane Morais, address your letter with Ally Bank, 6985 Union Park Centre, Suite 43, Midvale, Utah 84047. The corporate office phone number is listed as 801-790-5000.

Ally Financial has roots back to 1919. Ally Bank began as a GMAC Bank (General Motors Acceptance Corporation) in 2001. Money Magazine called Ally Bank ‘Best Online Bank’ during years 2011-2015. Social presence may be found on Twitter, YouTube and Google+.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Ally Bank Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Ally Bank headquarters address

    • 6985 Union Park Center
    • Midvale
    • UT 84047
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-877-247-2559
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Banks



Top Ally Bank Complaints

Browse more than 35 reviews submitted so far

20

I refinanced my car with another bank. I never got my title. I got a blue envelope, but in it, was a letter that said you would send my title. I tried calling for about 6 weeks. So many times I was transferred and put on hold for over 30 minutes. Finally, After I got someone that knows GA law to call, I found out that you sent my title to the wrong address. My PO Box is 2097, you sent to 2091. Then the lady told me that the other bank was the one that requested it to be sent there and the address was hard to read because it was hand written, so basically you guessed. I would think that since you got a check for over $20,000, you could have called to verify the address If you couldn’t read it. And why would you send a letter to my house telling me you were sending the title, but not to where you were sending? Now I have to get a replacement title which will take away from the value of my vehicle. This whole mess could have been avoided if I knew you had the wrong address.

20

I signed up for a 1 year CD, which offered a 1% bonus incentive, payable after several months wait. Even though their customer service admits I signed up during the enrollment period, I did not do it "correctly" so they are denying my bonus. While carefully following all directions and starting all registrations from provided links, I was expected to know I did it wrong. The customer "representative" only said "NO" and made no attempt to advocate for me or mitigate what was obviously their error.

80

I am a cosigner on an account. I did not receive letters stating the loan was in default, and I did not receive a repossession warning. If I had, I would have brought the loan current immediately.

I called this morning and was transferred from department to department trying to obtain copies of the supposed letters and a collections contact history. Only to be put through to a voice mail for Tamera in the customer service department after two hours of trying.

I am requesting a call back at 802-391-7551.

Audra Turner

20

I made previous arrangements with Ally. The female at extension 1161740 used harsh, rude, words with me today. She refused partial payments. The Florida state laws are in place for a reason and she was abusive! It was recorded on my companies recorded phone call and I need someone to contact me about a solution to this issue.

20

I sold my truck, the person that bought The truck used a credit union for financing they contact and Ally for the path amount which was 5000 approximately I sold the truck for 23,000 so they said to send the full check to Ally they would pay the truck off and send me the difference two weeks later they sent the check back and said they couldn’t do that so I contacted the credit union they contacted Ally again verify the check over the phone with her And we’re going to pay the truck off then I get the check back in the mail again a week later I have been on the phone with them back-and-forth nobody knows anything they have no records of speaking to anybody there’s no system there at all it’s a free-for-all and we’re going to pay the truck off then I get the check back in the mail again, a week later!!! I have been on the phone with ally nobody knows anything there they have no records of speaking to anybody!!! there’s no system there!!! at all it’s a free-for-all No one is in charge we can’t speak to a manager total chaos!!!! I have a check for 23,000 that I cant cash!!!! I will be filing a complaint with the feds

20

I WAS DENIED LOAN BUT CONTINUE TO RECIVE LETTERS FROM BANK TO MY WORK ADDRESS. MY EMPLOYER IS FUSTRATED WITH MY GETTING CORRESPONDANCE TO HIS PLACE OF BUINESS. PLEASE STOP SENDING CORRESPONDANCE TO MY WORK. I DO NOT KNOW HOW THEY GOT THAT ADDRESS AS MY HOME ADDRESS. MY HOME ADDRESS IS 33 WILLIAM EVANS. SAN MARCOS, TX. 78666. PLEASE STOP SENDING MAIL TO MY PLACE OF WORK.

20

They held paycheck for 7 days. They say only 5 but Friday to the next Friday is 7 to me. Called to ask for hold to be released and they would never let me speak to anyone kept me on hold for 2 hrs. Once Friday was here they canceled debit card and said 2 days before I find out why. My check is sitting there and I can not get to the funds. I live from paycheck to paycheck. been evicted due to this nonsense

20

To whom it may concern,
I have been a valued customer and have always made my payments on time. I am extremely frustrated, and thank you for the opportunity to tell you why. I requested a REWRITE on 3/19 and still have not heard back. I was told 1-2 business days and it has been 2 weeks. I have messaged online and received a automated message to call the financial dept.(twice.) and was on hold for an hour and a half. When someone finally came on, and I mentioned my hold, she hung up on me. I then called the main line for Ally and was told a supervisor would contact me....that never happened. This is unacceptable and I want to know what can be done. I contacted chat support once more today, and spoke to Imee, she spoke to her Team LeaderHere (initial 2SJ/SUP/663.) and I was told that they would email the rewrite team, but that has already been done. My time is valuable, and I am puzzled as to why it is so difficult for my request to be handled. I would like to be contacted 209-480-4317.

Thank you,
Jason Hale

20

Rude and worthless customer service.

60

My accounts disappear. Accounts listed on my 1099 for 2018 no longer exist when I long in to my accounts.
How could an account that you paid taxes on disappear? What gives?
I think this is an issue for your legal department because it goes far beyond poor service
Ben Masters 830-285-4960

20

Name: Jean Etienne
SS# 033-92-1023
RE: Account Number: 2135310965

On 03/01/2019, I contacted customer service via both the online chat, and the toll free number to report a problem with setting up a Zelle payment. This issue dates back to July of 2018, when I first discovered it, and subsequently reported it to Ally bank who than informed me of having resolved the issue. However, the problem was never resolved, and remains outstanding to date.

On 03/02/2019, I conducted another chat session where the representative was able to assist me in initiating the Zelle payment. Subsequent to that, I received a message requesting for me to Ally bank to verify the payment recipient, and upon contacting the the toll free number, I inadvertently provided the wrong user ID to the representative who used that as a basis to report in his notes that he did not believe that he was speaking to me the account holder despite the fact that I provided every other pertinent information that squarely established my identity. The representative name Stephen from the Fraud department then informed me to email a photo ID to verify my identity and advised me further that he would review the document and release my account within twenty minutes of receipt of my email. An hour later, I contacted Ally bank and spoke to Khadejah from the Fraud department, and she informed me that my immigration work permit was insufficient because it is expired. I then informed her that per USCIS' instructions on their website, the work permit has been extended since the federal government has placed a moratorium on renewal of all temporary protected statuses. I further advised Khadejah to go and research the issue herself so as to avoid making any further inflammatory accusations. At that point, she informed me that she did not "want my money, or had any intentions of taking and withholding my money." To which, I responded, that I already know that she can not, and did not understand why she felt the need to tell me so. Upon concluding our conversation, I again agreed to send in to Khadejah's attention, an updated and unexpired identification, and subsequently emailed an unexpired Massachusetts state identification card, which Khadejah's supervisor confirmed receipt of on the following day and decided reassign the case to Khadejah, and to have her rectify the situation before the end of the day on 03/03/2019. That was not done as had been indicated by Khadejah's supervisor.

On 03/04/2019, I contacted Ally bank again only to find out that the case was reassigned to another worker base in part, on the complaint that I had made to her boss. On 03/06/2019, I contacted Ally to inquire about the status of the verification of my identification card, and was told that the back office was still reviewing the matter despite the fact that it had been well past the two to three days that it would supposedly take to review my ID and cure the manufactured issues with my account.

Additionally, on 03/02/2019 I initiated a link between Ally and my Discover Bank savings account, and requested the transfer of $120 from my Ally account to the Discover account. My request was subsequently denied by Ally Bank despite assurances from a supervisor that all funds ($120) that was in the account prior to the dispute would not be subjected to the account hold. Consequently, and as a direct consequence to Ally bank's failures and repeated conflicting information, all capabilities relative to transfer to and from my Discover Bank account has been suspended.

Here we are today 03/07/2019, the issues remains unresolved with no clear indication as to what is happening, or a good faith effort on Ally's part to address the gross negligence, and slanderous conduct of its employees.

Consequently, I request that the appropriate person(s) with the authority to do so, to investigate this matter, and to release my above-mentioned savings account as soon as possible. I have also requested a case to that effect with the executive branch and the case reference# 20328776.

Thank you

Jean M. Etienne
(508) 818-8937

20

A deposit of over 700 dollars was mailed overnight to PA on 2-25-2019 and delivered on 2-26-2019 at 11:41 am for pick up. The Ally Bank Deposit Agreement that is located on the Ally web page on page 8 states the Deposit should be in my checking account by 5 pm 2-26-2019. Where is my deposit? I sent a deposit slip that is filled out, and a note requesting the deposit be made and dated.
I am not attaching any images because if the mail was picked up they will have everything they need.

20

I called Ally bank to get my account back from suspension because I accidentally entered my transfer backwards. My transfers were suspended for 2 months and I wanted to speak to someone to see if this could be fixed because I transfer every month. I was put on hold for 1 hour, then was rudely told to contact my other bank and resolve the issue by a certain Amanda who would not give me her last name or identity number to file a complaint. She was laughing that I was on hold for a long time, as soon as I told here I was going to file a complaint, less than 1 minute later someone was graciously available to speak to me. The second customer attendant because service was not provided, I asked here for Amanda's # or last name and she would also not give it to me, until after another hold for another 10 minutes, the new attendant was willing to give me Amanda's last name but why didn't Amanda do it. So my account is still suspended and I AM THE CUSTOMER WHO DIDN'T GET ANY HELP FROM YOUR CUSTOMER ATTENDANTS BECAUSE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON EXTINCT IN ALLY BANK.

20

I just had a vehicle repo friday. And i told the bank i would contact them this week to what i could do to come up with the payment. And they said i will put that in your acvount well the next thing was they came to get it friday. And the Repi guy that picked it up was telling my son whick he was driving friday that we called the bank and told my son that we caled the bank to come and get it. We never told Ally that. I told Ally that i would see what i could do. Also when they picked it up they took my plate off and drove it with my insurance i dont appreciate that. I will take action.

20

On January 11 I sent a check for 20,000 to be deposited in my online savings account. I made the mistake of putting the number of my wife’s Ira on the check . Ally contacted us and said that they couldn’t deposit the check in her Ira . I apologized and told them to deposit the check in my savings account. When I followed up to make sure the problem had been straightened out i was informed that the money had been deposited in my wife’s Ira . This was on January 24 and the representative Debbie said that it was noted that I requested the money to be deposited in my savings before it was deposited in my wife’s Ira . She apologized for Ally’s mistake and said the matter was resolved. because l was concerned about the tax ramifications she said that she spoke with Jay in the ira department and he said that they would note it as a bank mistake. On January 28 I was notified that my wife had to request an Ira withdrawal in order to get the money and redeposit it . I don’t believe this matter has been properly handled and concerned about the irs outlook on this matter. Sincerely, Bill Knott. 908-217-6588

20

On January 11 I sent a check for 20,000 to be deposited in my online savings account. I made the mistake of putting the number of my wife’s Ira on the check . Ally contacted us and said that they couldn’t deposit the check in her Ira . I apologized and told them to deposit the check in my savings account. When I followed up to make sure the problem had been straightened out i was informed that the money had been deposited in my wife’s Ira . This was on January 24 and the representative Debbie said that it was noted that I requested the money to be deposited in my savings before it was deposited in my wife’s Ira . She apologized for Ally’s mistake and said the matter was resolved. because l was concerned about the tax ramifications she said that she spoke with Jay in the ira department and he said that they would note it as a bank mistake. On January 28 I was notified that my wife had to request an Ira withdrawal in order to get the money and redeposit it . I don’t believe this matter has been properly handled and concerned about the irs outlook on this matter. Sincerely, Bill Knott. 908-217-6588

20

I closed out a jumbo matured CD on December 23, 2018 and did not receive my check until January 7, 2019.
A large amount of interest was lost. The check was dated Dec. 24 but not mailed by your carrier (FIS output solutions until Dec, 29th). It took another week because of their incorrect presort system.
I would not advise anyone to do business with your bank. What is your position regarding this transaction?

20

My car was towed and dragged for almost 3 blocks with the emergency break on which caused my back tires to feather. I have called and left messages numerous times, but have not spoke with anyone as of yet. I also sent e-mail with pictures and video and no one has responded back this way either. Please e-mail me or call me 708-334-6490.

20

my husband and I have been with this bank since we boight our 2013 from hodges Chevrolet In west branch Michigan.we never missed a payment on this car. well we went to swap it out for a new truck and you said no. we are very disappointed. we could see if we missed payments or were late but that never happened.even if we could not get a new truck we would have up graded. we don't think the is far. we would hope you coud reconceder. thank you for your time. sincerely lynn bills

20

I usually call each month and pay my bill with direct deposit from my checking account. The amount is $30.55 and when I called I was cut off "can't accept my call because amount is too low"???? Are you all going mad?? What is the problem?? I now sent a check via mail which is due by the way 12/10/18. I always pay early but I did not know about this. I most likely will cancel my card with you after this. I guess you don't want any customers. I do have other cards and most of the time pay early. I guess you like late payments for profit. I am very disappointed in this bank at this moment.
Thank you
Birgitta Reese

20

There website is impossible to navigate
Trying to make my 1st auto payment, they have no pay by phone
For a charge ( kickback)they suggest using Western Union

Going on line they have the worst system ever impossible to use on line service ...... worst IT system Ive ever seen

When you call they route you to the Philippines who will chat with you but get nothing resolved

I will be forced to make my. 1st payment through their kick back scheme with Western Union

I will file a formal complaint with AG of Texas

20

I want to talk to someone that can speak fluent ENGLISH . I got hurt at work 6 months ago and I'm barely getting by . I want defer a payment or two until I get back to work . It's impossible to understand these people. I need help

20

Please know this is a formal complaint. I am writing you because of my sheer disgust in how I am being cheated by Ally Auto. It is my hope that someone here in the US can get this matter under control now. When I purchased the car In September 2017 I was supposed to begin payments in November 2017. However, I started to pay in October 2017. My payments are due on the 29th of each month and late payment charges are which are only about 16.00 are not to begin until the 10th day after the due date. I have paid more than the amount I was supposed to pay each month but, yet I keep getting charged a 75.00 late fee. I don’t owe a late fee and the late charges are not 75.00 per month. I need someone to straighten this out before I make another payment. I called to complain over and over finally, a Chris in your escalation department somehow got the late chare taken off for September only to be placed on my account for the October 2018 due date. This is ridiculous. Also, I don’t know what country your representatives are in, but I can tell you they are liars and they are rude. Again, with the escalation department I spoke to a woman who said her name was Patrin on 10/11/2018, she just kept repeating that I owe a 75.00 late charge and I kept telling her I did not. When I asked to speak to someone in the US she told me that the US office did not have the power she had, but that she would put me through to the US office. She placed me on hold and never came back. I am not paying a 75.00 late charge I don’t owe. Before I report this to the BBB, please have this straightened out and the funds I have paid to your company appropriately placed to my account. I have the statements that clearly indicate I should have started to pay my account beginning 11/2017.

Geraldine Larkin

20

I am constantly getting harassing calls concerning my June 2018 car note payment. I went to my bank and got proof of my payment, faxed it and I've also mailed it in with my July payment. I keep getting calls saying I'm late. I've made my payments on time. I can be reached at 901-277-9477. I just don't know what else to do. I have read the reviews from Ally Financial.

20

I deposited a check and for whatever reason have since been locked out of my account..I've spoke to loss prevention several times and he keeps saying theyre waiting for the check to clear even though it already says the funds are available at every ATM I've checked , but when I try to pull money or make a purchase it say invalid account and declines..it's been two and a half weeks now and I know for a fact the law says a bank can't hold a check longer then 9days . So I've contacted the consumer protection agency and am meeting with a lawyer Monday morning to file a suite based on the hardships no access to my money has caused as well as the racially motivated closing of my account and unwillingness to provide any info or service Everytime I've called

20

I have been trying feverishly to get a form filled out from Ally. I have spent hours on hold, given wrong contact names and phone numbers. I had a vehicle loan several years ago, there is an insurance claim check that I never cashed. The insurance company turned it over to the State of Illinois unclaimed property. This check is my property. Ally has sent me a lien release letter, however the State of Illinois will not accept it, as they want their own General Release for filled out before they will release the funds to me. I have had a horrible time getting this done. Again long hold times, repeating myself over and over, been given wrong contact names and phone numbers. I don't understand why this has to be so hard. Someone just do their job!!!!!

20

Ally repossess my car after telling me to make a payment of $600 and start a payment plan, that was on a Monday. the next thing i know a tow truck was in front of my home picking up my car that was on a Thursday, the payment was due the next day on a Friday. When I went to pick up my car from the repo company, my car was damage and items was missing. I call Ally to complaint I didn't get a response from customers service, also the company ally use to tow my car drove it, my miles on the odometer before it was tow read 150,000 after I pick it up from the repo company it read 156,000. I believe that Ally and the repo company should pay me for damages and items being remove from my car.

20

on 8-28 2017 i personally authorized ally to take from my checking account money to bring my account up to date. the money was not to be taken out until 9-1-2017. it was taken on the 28th therefore causing my checking account to be overdrawn. i have tried on the 30th of august to speak to someone at the bank which refered me to western union. they inform me it is not their fault, but ally bank is to blame. i will be filing a complaint with the federal govt concerning these practices. jerry orick acct 628925025806 also this has hurt my credit. in july of 25 2017 i also was contacted over the phone for a pmt which i authiorized for 8-1-2017 to be taken and it never was therefore putting my loan in default. your bank should get their act together. i will file my complaint and go on social media concerning your practices.

20

Ally Bank would not accept my address said it was a rv park. But they have accounts for 11 years with the address they now will not accept. No reasoning with these people they are all like monkeys all do the same and say they?

20

I have faxed over 3 different days the deferment form since 9/30/16 thrust 10/6/16, and nothing has been entered in the computer system yet. Everyday i heaved called and they say I'm past due plus a late charge. I'm very upset! I haven't had one late payment until now, because of this problem. Has anyone else had issues contacting Ally Bank? They are online so this really worries me.

40

Auto loan paid off since 8/31/2016 overpayment of $1094.00 credit from dealership Lou Fusz Motor Company in St. Peter's, Missouri. Originally told refund within 5 to 10 business days from the Smart Cash received from dealer on 9/1/2016. Since then have been told 3 different days that I should receive refund. Now on 9/26/16 been told first or second week of October 2016. This is a refund of $595.00 for theft protection and $499.00 for a car pass that I chose not to keep after I signed the loan papers with Ally bank I found a lower interest rate loan paid off on 8/31/2016. I was told I could cancel both and receive a check if bank received the payoff before these credits went through. Still have not received check and no concrete answer from Ally customer service at the bank when I will receive it. Hoping that someone can connect me with corporate offices (shown below)?

40

It is appalling to witness your employee Ismail and Branch Manger represent your company in such a manner stating that my documentation were fake. The Branch Manager contact the legal department of the back and they asked her or Ismail to scan the documentation to the legal department and the legal department stating that the documentation were fine. I was shocked and disappointed to have been treated in this way you should be made aware of your employee's action.

100

Have heard nothing but good things. My co-worker banks at Ally and he is always raving about their customer service. Never heard a complaint once out of his mouth of this company.

80

My friend has an account with Ally bank and he just raves about them non-stop. It seems like they are on the cutting edge of banking with the whole online only system. I never see complaints about them!

100

Making your financial transactions in the current busy life will be more easier only with secured Bankers and I feel that Ally Bank is the right choice which I have opted. CDs , auto-financing and IRAs are the special services we can avail in Ally Bank. You can always compare your CDs and IRAs online whenever you require. 24/7 customer support, no minimum deposit, online & mobile security guarantee are added advantages in Ally Bank. I recommend you that Ally Bank will be best possible way for secured monitory savings.

Have feedback for Ally Bank?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!